It’s Never Too Late

  • If you would have told me that at the age of 43, I would go through such a huge transformation, I would have thought you were crazy. I had convinced myself that most of the big changes had happened and I was just cruising along. Then, what started off as a normal day, it quickly plummeted into a nightmare. Sitting in that field, with my head in my hands, not sure of what was going to happen to my life as I knew it. I realized how dysfunctional my idea of normal was. Right then and there, I knew I had a choice. I could continue to live a life that was shadowed by secrets and darkness or I could deal with it.
    I chose to deal with it. Frequently during my journey, I would beat myself up about “wasting my life”. What I learned was that it’s not wasted time at all. All of the experiences, good and bad both deposited something inside of me. Those experiences and challenges have sharpened me into who I am today. I like to think that I have risen from the ashes.
    Please don’t ever think that “it’s too late” to deal with anything. It’s not. It has been so worth all of the pain and grief that I have felt. I don’t feel like I am always waiting for something bad to happen and more importantly I see my challenges as opportunities not punishment. “She picked up the pieces of her life and created something beautiful from that day forth. She shone like the sun and changed the definition of broken”- Randall M Core

 

Leave a comment